Tags

, , , ,

We read about leading change for our leadership class this week. We studied a framework for change developed by John Kotter. The framework has eight steps and two of them stood out strongly for me. The fist was in step 4 “communicate the vision and the strategy.” Kotter says: “[The leader] must communicate about the change at least 10 times more than they think necessary.” This is an idea I first heard in an IIBA lunch meeting about leading change and it resonated with me even then.  At work, as we talk about issues and changing our culture, I have brought this up many times. I never feel like anyone hears me. Maybe I need to say this 10 more times than I think is necessary.

The other point that really struck me was part of step 7 “keep up the urgency.” One of the points he makes is that you have to make “sure employees have the time, resources, and authority they need to pursue the vision.” I think this is often the mistake made by management. Especially in these economic times the control on resources is tight so that seems to be the source of not getting resources. But I feel that overwhelmingly, the problem with NOT following through with this advice is that you tell your employees that you don’t trust them. Give them the information about a budget, give them the vision and allow them to act. Trust that they will take the right actions. That they will honor your trust and stay within or even under budget, or if they want to pursue something bigger, they will trust you to  hear them out and request a new budget. Give people the information, give them your trust, and they will repay you with a job well done.

Okay, I’m not blind, some people will not live up to this, but wouldn’t you rather let them show you that right away so that you can let them find another job rather than nursing them along until they can do real damage?